Home > Computer Freeze > Computer/graphic Card Locking Up While Playing Half Life 2

Computer/graphic Card Locking Up While Playing Half Life 2

Contents

If you have any issues with The Orange Box or Half-Life 2 Episode 2 then post them there. Sam Posted 15 May 2007 at 11:05 pm | Permalink Ive got an issue with the display graphics of half life 2 episode one. Brannigan Posted 24 July 2007 at 1:05 am | Permalink Hi there, first of all: great page! I’ve also read people recommending that users with 64bit CPUs ensure that they use a 64bit operating system. check over here

I kept getting an error message every time I tried to launch HL2, so I re-enabled my sound card, and left nosound engaged. I have searched their website with no luck. If not let me know and i'll repost adding line breaks and you can delete this one. As soon as I bumped the direct X down to -dxlevel 81, I've been playing the game as flawlessly as I was able to play Half Life 2! https://forums.techguy.org/threads/computer-graphic-card-locking-up-while-playing-half-life-2.406946/

Why Does My Computer Freeze When I Play Games

Click on the tab labelled Sound. I have since gotten a laptop (which better specs than the old desk top in just about every area) and installed HL2 a few days ago. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Under the heading Direct X Features is a slider labelled Hardware Sound Acceleration Level.

Goto: http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.html?p_faqid=397 and click on the link under 1. should i completely uninstall direct x and reinstall it? so i beat it and then i didnt have the problem to much. Laptop Freezes When Playing Games I shut down the machine for the night and the next day it starts to lock up again.

most of the time HL2 freezes within the first 10 minutes of play, but I have had a couple rare instances where it let me play for hours on end without Computer Freezes When Playing Games Windows 10 Now back to finding a solution for the Stuttering/Looping Sound Problem … geez Valve … Prov2717 Posted 23 October 2007 at 1:32 am | Permalink Hey guys, I may have found Try re-installing your OS to bare bones updated state. http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-mac-linux-society-1000004/half-life-2-freezing-problem-25450683/ Many people have experienced the problem and no one seems to know exactly how to fix it. (Valve haven't really given any help in this area) The problem, as far as

It is a Windows 7 Gadget, so for Windows 8 / 8.1 you may have to find an actual program. Computer Freezes When Playing Games Windows 8 I'm really frustrated because I had the game working just fine, I got through the first chapter. Providing you've done all your research with respect to your internal hardware components already then the best advice I can provide is to just try eliminating possibilities one at a time.Start Nothing I do changes anything. -The Gpu is not overheating, I've been running msi afterburner and evga control panel and the screen freezes before the gpu heats up to 40C+. -All

Computer Freezes When Playing Games Windows 10

dustman1565Nov 13, 2008, 2:07 PM Also, to catch up on suggestions from earlier that I haven't said anything about:Everything has been re-seated a few times now with consistent temperatures. Colonel Posted 9 May 2007 at 2:19 pm | Permalink Dear The__Jackal - I had the same problem you had in that I couldn't update my drivers because Toshiba had not Why Does My Computer Freeze When I Play Games Maybe you could try underclocking your gfx card's memory. Computer Freezes When Playing Games Windows 7 So far without workaround though.

I really don't think its a cooling problem, my GPU temp never gets above 65.My Specs:Asus M5a97 r2.0 MoboAMD FX6350 Processor8gb Crucial Balistix XT 1866mhzAsus Radeon R9 270WD Blue 1TB HDDSentey See if that eliminates some of the problems. i have updated all of my drivers besides sound i dont know where to get them. Cheers to all. Computer Freezes During Games Not Overheating

what program should i download to check that? So now what do I do as I cant return an opened game to a store. my power button isn't working, when my pc is frozen only the restart button works. http://codecreview.com/computer-freeze/computer-freezes-when-playing-any-game-with-no-particular-time.html After upgrading my mobo, CPU & RAM I was able to play Far Cry with everything maxed out even on my bottom of the range & apparently problematic 6800LE.

I was able to play Fallout 3 for an hour, and then suddenly my monitor went black, along with the keyboard and mouse. Computer Crashes When Playing Games Not Overheating The only way I could get the game to work was, like you said, to set the game to DX Level 81. This problem does not occur on most of the other games I have (halo, tiberian sun) only Half Life 2 and Battlefield 2 is it a problem...and it's a major one.

My gear: ASUS A8V deluxe Opteron 165 (was at 2.4, but went back to 1.8 during these trying times) HIS x1950pro 512GB (always stock) 2 GB kingston value ram (was at

My system meets minimum requirements and I've installed the latest sound and video drivers. Guest Hello everyone. Could it be my hard drive is the fault here. Computer Freezes When Playing Games Or Watching Videos jjyankMember Since: June 17, 2003Posts: 142jjyankFollowForum Posts: 142Followed by: 0Reviews: 0 Stacks: 0Forum Karma: 0#9 Posted by jjyank (142 posts) - 9 years, 10 months agoThanks!

I also have a TP link wifi card and after disabling it in device manager my system doesn't freeze in games. Colonel Posted 2 October 2007 at 3:36 pm | Permalink Freakoftheuniverse, unfortunately the looping crash has proved very difficult to correct. i'm using a amd64 3000+ with 1gb memory and an ati x800xt grafikcard… thanks for any advises… Moe Posted 1 October 2007 at 3:38 am | Permalink please help, i recently have a peek at these guys Setting desktop to 1280×960 Setting game res to 1280×960 (-width and -height parameters) Setting -dxlevel 81 launch parameter Rest of in-game settings are not important (tried changing stuff, everything works ok

Have you tired any other games? I ran all needed updates , im on xp pro sp2 amd 64 bit 3000+ processor with 2 gigs of ddr400 ram, gforce 6800 GT 256 mb ram graphics card. The computer starts freezing and goes for the same pich noise the sound was gonna give over and over again. Faster just to force shut down and wait about 10-15 Minutes before turning the computer back on.

The only thing I can say is that I scanned my wife's computer with spy boy search and destroy (she downloads a lot of crap) and there was a ton of May be it's because my slow internet connection but if u guys know any workaround then please share it with me. I am begging you all!! #6 Beavis, Jan 4, 2005 dogboy73 Tank Joined: Oct 15, 2003 Messages: 1,089 Likes Received: 0 Is it definitely the same problem? If you Run dxdiag in Windows, it should show the driver info and provider. (Assuming they haven't changed the utility much between XP and Win7.) It is possible that it could

mithras Posted 22 October 2007 at 12:25 am | Permalink I hope so, too. Show Ignored Content As Seen On Welcome to Tech Support Guy! Save this as a default profile applied at startup. Good luck.