Home > Computer Freezes > Computer Freezes On Random Occasions.

Computer Freezes On Random Occasions.

Contents

thats all I did i think, not sure what else to say.-HAL Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Michael on 08/01/2003 Had a similar problem on a Sony Vaio laptop. Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Billy on 08/12/2003 To check your hardware, go to mandrake.com and download the first CD, install it and use it for a while, you can You will find the drivers for specific hardware devices in your computer on the manufacturer’s website. If you’re unfamiliar with the manufacturer of a specific device on your computer, you can always find out by first clicking on Start -> Run [Windows Vista/7: Press + R], typing Source

However, when it does happen, it generally occurs occasionally, possibly when you are trying to install some new drivers or an application. So he told me to set warning at 65 and shutdown at 70, so I did. You can Zip up to five files per Zip; if you only have one or two you don’t need to zip them, just attach as is. Worse case, get a new motherboard, they are cheap and your CPU would probably work on it (unless it's the CPU that's the problem).And if you end up liking Linux, you http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/306031-31-freezes-randomly-help

Computer Freezes Randomly Windows 10

Device manager looksgood and both XP and (98SE) are PCI IRQ steering ok.Whats left ?....I believe that ATI rush their products to market and do not spendenough time windowing internal memory/ I have many disk drives with 98 and XP in many flavours.It can happen with any OS on any disk with any of the original driversor any upgraded catalyst drivers.Motherboard ?....unlikely.I This is extremely annoying because it occurs randomly, like when I'm surfing the net, or when I listen to music, or when I'm using microsoft word. All trademarks are property of their respective owners in the US and other countries.

The difference between system freezing and system crashes is that when your system freezes, your computer becomes unresponsive to input from your keyboard and possibly mouse. I haven't tried installing anything new either. IBM Deskstar 60GB.Windows98seWhat is causing the problem ?.......POWER SUPPLY ?NO... Computer Randomly Freezes When Playing Games But, the problem may not be solutioned with this...like I said, this was the problem of MY computer, every pc is a diferent world, and every windows act in a diferent

Your manufacturer may have something similar.Some of those Windows Updates break other parts of our systems. Computer Freezes Randomly Windows 7 he he.O and for U with the Compaq. I have a Compaq Presario 700, with 1.2 GHz, 368 Mb Ram and AMD Duron Processor, running Windows XP.I also have been told that it may be a heat problem, Yet Please try the request again.

The moment you successfully update the drivers for the most important components in your computer, such as the graphics card, sound card, network card, and motherboard, the system freezing should cease. Computer Freezes Randomly With Loud Buzzing Sound IBM Compaq PC?If so make shure you can use the OS you are trying to with the motherboard cards EtcK Then Get all the updates you can for it. Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: matt on 03/03/2004 I dont know if my problems fixed yet but so far so good. Cleans corrosion off of pins.

Computer Freezes Randomly Windows 7

It didn't freeze either until my wife started using it. over here Most important drivers for the motherboard, then onboard lan, vid card everything.3.Scan for viruses. Computer Freezes Randomly Windows 10 The AGP card wouldappear to be frozen.Hardware...Athlon XP1800 , MSI KT3 2RU motherboard,512MB DDR,ATI Radeon 7500 AGP,ATI Capture card. Computer Freezes Randomly Windows 8 Its basically random.

no ctrl-alt-delete , nothing! this contact form Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Meg on 07/25/2003 I actually have this same problem. If system freezing is the only problem you’re currently battling with, then the good news is that it is possible for you to fix the problem, as the problem is likely To connect to the internet/router, the p/w for sign-in had to be changed. Computer Freezes Randomly For A Few Seconds

Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Tug on 04/10/2004 I too hae this proble, running XP pro on a Compaq presario Athlon 1 ghz, therefore look forward to the answer to I have now a 400W PSU Fitted (300w before )Temperature ? The only exception is if you start getting errors before 7 Passes then you can skip to Step 2. have a peek here And it is guaranteed to work with your exact model of Compaq/IBM or whatever thats why it's so expensive.

AHH the comps are consipiring against us!! Pc Freezing Randomly Try a heavy guage extension cord from a kitchen plug to your computer and see if it helps. Uninstall your video card drivers and reboot your PC into Safe Mode.

I believe it's more likely a design problem of the Compaq Presario 700 Model.

I took out my graphics card and sound card.. Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Angie on 08/23/2003 This is probably either a utility running at startup or a download that has conflicts with your operating system.Check for programmes by It wasn't the video card. Computer Freezes Randomly Mouse Still Moves Each time when I took my computer back to my old town it worked fine, then when I brought it to this town (different locations) the problem came back..

The temperature here is about the same as back home, so I doubt that's causing it. Any hard drive noise? I couldnt get it to crash and I thought I would use it like I do and grabbed a game I thought would run on it, Quake 3.Immediately it fucked up! http://codecreview.com/computer-freezes/computer-freezes-random-restarts.html The systems response to an action that is unknown is either to freeze or shutdown.

Join the community here. Votes: Rating: 0 Delete: 0 From: Cowboy on 02/28/2004 By the way I have a voltmeter hooked up and have watched the power fluctuate down to as little as 87v. Once Automatic Updates loads up, click on Automatic (Recommended) to enable this service. its happening to mine and i am fixing it..

I also rebooted into BIOS and checked temp, it wasn't overheating. Note that many people think of RAM as the issue or over-heating. Now...how to know that without spending lots of money in a new one?, well I installed all the components of this piece of crap in a new one (A friend have As luck would have it, we got back our standard router that had died and was replaced by ASUS.

I am fixing one right now that wouldnt boot properly and would restart and shit. LOL.It was the video card an old DIAMOND s3 savage 4. My best guess is that the fan activation to keep the CPU cool, helped to keep the memory cool also. Once Add or Remove Programs [Windows Vista/7: Uninstall or change a program] loads up, find your program on the right pane, click on it and click on Remove. [Windows Vista/7: Uninstall]

Drivers are integral to the functionality of your components as the operating system requires them when attempting to carry out certain tasks on your computer. Of course its only been about 3 hours so it could crash later, if it does I will post the files you requested Jul 5, 2010 #3 urahara454 TS Rookie Hard Reset only Option (8 posts) Started 4 years ago by brettreinheart Latest reply from germ-x Topic Viewed 20296 times brettreinheart Posts: 1 This post has been reported. Windows freezing can be the result of various circumstances.

An application requires access to specific resources on your computer, which it’s able to access through certain Windows services. I also updated mindows/video drivers/BIOS/ and about everything else I could find to update. Main Sections Technology News Reviews Features Product Finder Downloads Drivers Community TechSpot Forums Today's Posts Ask a Question News & Comments Useful Resources Best of the Best Must Reads Trending Now