Home > Computer Running > Computer Running Inexplicably Slooooooow

Computer Running Inexplicably Slooooooow

Share twitter facebook linkedin Clean up your computer (Score:3, Interesting) by Wowsers ( 1151731 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @06:26PM (#26567783) Journal We all clean our computers regularly, right? Parent Share twitter facebook linkedin My check list (Score:4, Informative) by CormacJ ( 64984 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:22PM (#26566857) Homepage Journal My usual check list for Like this here [samsung.com] for example. Check the HDD (Score:5, Informative) by Fez ( 468752 ) * writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:10PM (#26566631) Very commonly this happens when a hard drive reverts to PIO mode http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-slooooooow-hjt-log-attached.html

Close Close Slashdot Working... Answer Questions Is a macbook repair worth it? Over 15 years in PC repair, it always ends up being the users inability to run a PC properly. Any more than 4 tabs open on chrome with no other programs up and it starts to crawl. https://ask.slashdot.org/story/09/01/22/2126205/how-to-diagnose-a-suddenly-slow-windows-computer

Without JavaScript enabled, you might want to turn on Classic Discussion System in your preferences instead. Close Close Search 835 Comments Log In/Create an Account Comments Filter: All Insightful Informative Interesting Funny The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Hellfire13May 11, 2016, 3:51 AM have u considered updating ur bios???reset the cmos first and see if tht helps...

SMART provides a lot of data, some of which is crap :-) but some of which is very useful. Hellfire13May 14, 2016, 3:12 AM Mister Lemons said: Alright, so at some point my AI Tweaker's memory settings were set to 11 11 11 24 when my timings are actually 9 Already wiped clean, reinstalled Windows - now what? Now it not only forms the logo but stays there for a bit before taking a good while on the loading screen before finally coming to a rest at the desktop.

A big perf log can eat up your whole harddrive if you leave it running. Normal startup times for all my games be they steam related or not.I DO have a sandisk ultra II SSD (only storage I installed that is backed up monthly) that is The culprit is usually that my kid has hit the Turbo button off. Preview post Submit post Cancel post You are reporting the following post: Computer inexplicably running slow This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff.

But the frightening think was that it is even possible. Even in PIO mode you don't have to poll until it's done. Last time you helped with my computer so I am hoping we can get to the bottom of this again. I never did investigate the issue (because laziness) and it was fixed just with a graphical logout/login (thus, I think restarting X.)Remember also that a lot of Linux boxes crawl when

I'm a bastard that way.-God Share twitter facebook linkedin Re:Sorry (Score:5, Funny) by PotatoFarmer ( 1250696 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:35PM (#26567085) Nice try, but everyone knows you're my response Re:Simplest answer (Score:5, Insightful) by bluefoxlucid ( 723572 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @06:15PM (#26567659) Journal If you've got everything backed up, that should be the quickest option. (Versus Now:1) Like in the Linux case, some people indeed can analyze and find the cause of the slowdown (yes, there are some Windows experts)2) Would Linux users install the same background I did a batch of updates a couple of months ago that caused the CPU usage to spike.

Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. check over here If you set the wizard to run regularly, Windows 98 will load your programs as quickly as possible.(excerpt from http://sisnet.ssku.k12.ca.us/technology/Win)Although most of the sites that held tips for tweaking Win98 no Re:Turbo button... (Score:5, Funny) by Mr Z ( 6791 ) writes: on Friday January 23, 2009 @03:19AM (#26571811) Homepage Journal Even my computer with the Turbo button switched between 8MHz and No solved Very Slow running system System suddenly extremely slow, but running apps still responsive solved Which PSU do you suggest in buying as my System is running slow after changing

PC fine yesterday, slow as politics today.Can't run Avast check, even Spybot does not start (and no, these two have lived on this PC for 4 years in perfect harmony and Sometimes it simply lingers at a webpage claiming that IT is unresponsive. Untick the "Run on a schedule (recommended)" box. http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-slowly-and-freezing-after-running-firefox-and-steam-games.html You must open ALL the devices one at a time, as above, and turn off the power saver, for each device.

Share twitter facebook linkedin Check heatsinks and fans (Score:3, Informative) by Anonymous Coward writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:24PM (#26566905) Check the reported hardware (CPU...) temperatures, run the SMART tests Share twitter facebook linkedin Service pack 3? (Score:3, Insightful) by pluther ( 647209 ) writes: <[pluther] [at] [usa.net]> on Thursday January 22, 2009 @06:06PM (#26567555) Homepage When mine did a few Full specs here: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit pre-installed w/CoA AMD Fusion Dual-Core E-300 1.3 GHz "Zacate" (40 nm) processor 2 x 512 KB L2 cache AMD A45 Fusion chipset

and one of the sticks had actually jammed some of it into the seat...So I grabbed some Isopropol 90% and a very fine paintbrush and spent the next half hour practicing

Jul 6, 2016 10:04 AM Helpful (0) Reply options Link to this post by OGELTHORPE, OGELTHORPE Jul 6, 2016 11:08 AM in response to simsam18 Level 9 (54,756 points) Mac OS Even notepad can get about as responsive as a narcoleptic snail. Don't know when that happened, possibly when I wiped the secure boot keys. Track this discussion and email me when there are updates If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and

Prog Snob, Jan 22, 2014 #3 TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member You are most welcome and good luck. Natalie Portman Obligatory (Score:5, Funny) by samriel ( 1456543 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:14PM (#26566711) GeekSquad diagnosis: Vista installed. The help desk has been trained to use it. http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-multiple-processes-at-startup-running-very-slow.html I can tell you exactly where it is.

Add your answer Source Submit Cancel Report Abuse I think this question violates the Community Guidelines Chat or rant, adult content, spam, insulting other members,show more I think this question violates I noticed this on an offloaded pc I cleaned up to pass on. I can't just tick off what I want and hit Apply. The system then takes approximately 2 minutes before I can open any window or exe and use it, chrome and internet explorer included.

I cleaned the stick as well and jammed them all back into place. Windows 2000 & 2003: The built-in defragger is not started automatically. TechRepublic Search GO CXO Cloud Big Data Security Innovation More Software Data Centers Networking Startups Tech & Work All Topics Sections: Photos Videos All Writers Newsletters Forums Resource Library Tech Pro Formatting should be a last resort.

Some tools will even allow you to repair the bad sectors but usually if you've got bad sectors you should start looking at a new HDD soon. - If you have Slow to start.? 8 answers Which is better Macbook or Laptop ? 63 answers More questions My computer wont boot from USB, Please help.? 7 answers Dual 8GB or single 16GB You can always add it back.I once looked at a coworkers system and he had processes starting up at runtime that were called, I kid you not, A, B and blank in the bios, see that the allocation for video, if available, is maxed.

Hellfire13Jun 9, 2016, 5:10 AM investing on ssd is a gud choice, but if i were u, i wud rather try to find out the source of the issue first before Hardware installed that is not being used (network adapters, scanners)Check!Network connections that are not being used (shared folders, shared printers)Check!Other stuff installed that slows things down: Network Client (e.g. A quick review of the prefetch directory, however, is a good indicator of which programs have been running. Parent Share twitter facebook linkedin Re:Virtual Machine (Score:5, Funny) by pem ( 1013437 ) writes: on Thursday January 22, 2009 @05:48PM (#26567293) Yes.

The difference (as you've demonstrated) is that when Linux slows to a crawl, you've got at least some chance at finding and fixing the cause of the slowdown. Select it in the results (it should be at the top.)☞ In the Finder, select Go ▹ Utilities from the menu bar, or press the key combination shift-command-U. You can only upload photos smaller than 5 MB. Try checking the SMART data with something like HDTune [hdtune.com].

If you don't know what it is, get rid of it. TimW, Jan 21, 2014 #2 Prog Snob Private E-2 Thanks! How many fonts are installed?3.