Home > Computer Running > Computer Very Slow - Something Running In Background - Please Help

Computer Very Slow - Something Running In Background - Please Help

Contents

Logical Disk Manager: If you do not plan to add extra hard drives or modify the hard drive partitions on your machine, you can disable this. my PC performance much faster than before... To be extra safe, scan your computer with an antivirus program. To run System Restore, click Start -> Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore. http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-multiple-processes-at-startup-running-very-slow.html

Now, I can't go back to a previous restore point. You could have written a product about it and sell. ;) Though a lot of the services we recommend to disable, I was kind of hesitant because I didn't know how IIS: The Internet Information Services provide the capabilities of a web server for your computer. It's best to optimize your space as much as possible – move stuff to the cloud, or delete the stuff you're not using,” he says.” Hard drive space is taken up

Computer Running Slow Windows 10

RSS ALL ARTICLES FEATURES ONLY TRIVIA Search How-To Geek 10 Quick Ways to Speed Up a Slow PC Running Windows 7, 8, or 10 Windows PCs don't have to slow It should be labeled something like "OS:C". 9 Click "Optimize". After determining if a background program is causing the problem, we recommend running the System Configuration Utility again and selecting Normal Startup. by R.

You can end these processes from within this menu. 10 Right-click a process you wish to end. The key code to get it working is: FgAAAPLg4dQ5xM4BRlXYrd50kbo0MzLBjk200RFM6agAWNGgWYoqYO6VDiHP3DzYQ4CMjKAp9/5XJeMs Were it not by all investigation an orphan and the author's site dead I wouldn't offer that but...

September 24, 2015 Dan Run Defrag to help ensure that data is arranged in the best possible order. Why Is My Computer So Slow Windows 8 This will take you to the Details tab, where the Description column now lives.

OS's continue to build on the same foundation. Computer Running Slow Windows 7 It'll also save room on your hard drive and improve system security -- for example, you definitely shouldn't have Java installed if you're not using it. And in terms of that ancient computer cleaning ritual defragging, “that really only works on Windows XP computers and older,” says Silverman. https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/desktop-suddenly-very-slow-hard-drive-spinning-579300/ This will locate the disk defragmentation app on your computer. 7 Click the "Defragment and Optimize Drives" option.

To stop a process, click the End Process button, and confirm that that's what you really want to do. Why Is My Computer So Slow All Of A Sudden I have an older Acer 2.6ghz Pent4 that was running so slow, and having lock ups. I installed the ultimate defragger and found it was 63% fragmented. Reboot If your computer has not been rebooted recently, make sure to reboot it before following any of the steps below.

Computer Running Slow Windows 7

Any human perceivable delay in opening an application, file, or waiting for a page on the web to load should have never existed. Thank you. 2007-07-18 09:24:39 Juhi Basoya Hey Livia, Thanks for that great article. Computer Running Slow Windows 10 Click the "CPU," "Memory," and "Disk" headers to sort the list by the applications using the most resources. Why Is My Computer So Slow Mac Follow our guide to freeing up space on your Windows PC to free up room.

Protected Storage: Disable it if you do not allow strangers to sit on your encrypted storage computer. http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-v-slow.html My computer is now running much faster after disabling unnecessary Windows services. From adam on June 10, 2015 :: 10:06 am The hard drive can become fragmented to the point it severely degrades performance. Windows Messenger: Disable this if you are not on a network, it uses too much memory and it is a hog. Slow Computer Fix

Print Spooler: Disable it if you do not have a printer connected to your computer. EDIT Edit this Article Home » Categories » Computers and Electronics » Operating Systems » Windows ArticleEditDiscuss Edit ArticleHow to Speed Up a Slow Windows Computer for Free Four Parts:Disabling Startup Anyway, the reality turns out to be quite different when you get into business, as you don't know exactly what you can safely turn off without doing harm to your computer. weblink Adjust for best performance - This will turn Windows effects down considerably, speeding up your computer in the process.

If your PC is still using a mechanical hard drive, upgrading to a solid-state drive -- or just ensuring your next PC has an SSD -- will offer you a dramatic Reason For Computer Running Slow It is probably too much to expert from Microsoft for them to provide a decent user interface for us to safely manage this process. 2008-08-04 08:37:51 VGD-Neon From:Online Gamers Philippines vanguard Free Up Disk Space RELATED ARTICLE7 Ways To Free Up Hard Disk Space On Windows If your hard drive is almost completely full, your computer may run noticeably slower.

It only has one gig of ram but is only really used to surf the web so its not a spped demon by any means but the program did speed things

Now you should see a folder with lots of files, which you can delete to increase your computer's speed. You should also run security checks at least once a week using the antivirus security program of your choice. Low RAM = a greater increase in speed as a result of this. 2) People who don't use caution and shut down the wrong programs. Slow Computer Fix Free Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Answer We had a long discussion testing for this and that.

Before you start formatting your PC for the nth time, read how to fix a slow computer by disabling unnecessary Windows services that you keep running on your machine. In the space provided at the bottom type in "Run" then click on the search icon. 3. Reply Good tips to clear memory From MicroStar on January 14, 2016 :: 12:09 am Thanks for the tips to speed up my computer. http://codecreview.com/computer-running/computer-running-slow-hjt-log-help.html To do that click Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer.

Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Answer Slow system by pgc3 / December 3, 2012 12:25 AM PST In reply to: Desktop suddenly very slow, hard drive spinning... If you are on the Internet when your computer is slow, make sure all browser plugins are up-to-date. If you want to speed up your computer, there are so many safer, better ways to do it. 2008-05-19 07:00:23 Vanderwalker Very very helpful, it really worked ! by R.

Network Access Protection Agent: Safely disable this service if you are not using more than one computer and you do not need to manage a network. I like them have 1-2 but since following them from panther (only) I have the strong feeling that they increasing do the "windows" especially with respect to services and gadgets. Second, I should be able to pinpoint a pretty clear time in the Event Log to see what the problem is, right? So even though all signs seem to point to a virus or malware, it's not looking likely that that's what the problem is.Based on the above, any further thoughts?

Cryptographic Services: Set this to manual if you are not sure you need it. Reset Your PC / Reinstall Windows RELATED ARTICLEEverything You Need to Know About "Reset This PC" in Windows 8 and 10 If the other tips here didn't fix your problem, the one You should also scan it with Malwarebytes, which catches a lot of "potentially unwanted programs" (PUPs) that most antivirus programs tend to ignore. Makes you value the net all over again.

Mac: System Preferences / Dock, then for minimizing applications, change that super-swish Genie effect to a utilitarian Scale effect (basically just disappearing). Often, you'll find background processes running here (e.g., Dropbox or Google Drive). YES, I'm talking about you, the people who are probably reading this on there friends computer because theirs crashed as a result of their stupidity. 2008-02-23 14:17:16 Sara I disabled most