Home > Freezes When > Computer Freezes Whenever I Copy And Paste Large Files.

Computer Freezes Whenever I Copy And Paste Large Files.

Contents

Do you think that could Be RAM? It took a second to load. If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started. JoeyG, May 28, 2010 #2 DaveA David Trusted Advisor Joined: Nov 16, 1999 Messages: 13,382 Remember that the use of Copy and Paste, the copy is copied into RAM and/or the have a peek here

The only option is to reboot and after that it works fine for a while and same behavior again. All Rights Reserved Tom's Hardware Guide ™ Ad choices current community blog chat Super User Meta Super User your communities Sign up or log in to customize your list. I used the NTFS system at 4000kb. If you don't see a readily apparent problem, then we'll have to run some diagnostics on your system to see what is going on.

Computer Freezes When Transferring Files To External Hard Drive

All rights reserved. Already have an account? When I try to copy a file from my pendrive, everything is ok -- I got 16-19M/s , it works pretty well.

There can be one such file in each disk partition. I think it's hardware issue Feb 10, 2008 When I log on, my computer freezes after about 30 seconds Feb 22, 2009 Windows Explorer and My Computer freeze whenever I open Also, another version of Windows (Windows 8) did not seem to cause an issue. –3m3sd1 Feb 4 '15 at 23:53 Can't see it being a windows issue, I copy File Transfer Freezes Similar Threads - Computer freezes Whenever Could someone tell me if my computer is crashing fantasticx2, Jan 16, 2017, in forum: Windows XP Replies: 4 Views: 246 Elizabeth23 Jan 19, 2017

Mine is 64 bit Ubuntu 14.04. Computer Freezes When Copying Files By viewing our content, you are accepting the use of cookies. John 3:16 In Latin How would interplanetary stock-exchanges work? http://superuser.com/questions/529908/windows-bug-freeze-while-copying-files-parallel-another-copy-may-unfreeze Advertisement Tech Support Guy Home Forums > Operating Systems > Windows XP > Home Forums Forums Quick Links Search Forums Recent Posts Members Members Quick Links Notable Members Current Visitors Recent

That isn't allowing Used Ram to be freed up after it is no longer needed.You might like to try Free Ram as a possible solutionhttp://tinyurl.com/8rvxyI don't know if it will work Computer Freezes When Transferring Files To Usb When the memory in use by all the existing processes exceeds the amount of RAM available, the operating system will move pages (4 KB pieces) of one or more virtual address How do I wash the "pokey" side of a box grater? I know this because I've got several systems that are identical hardware, and on one, I can do this operation without issue, while on another the problem shows up.

Computer Freezes When Copying Files

If any of the sectors are red, I'd replace it.posted by meta87 at 10:29 AM on January 26, 2014 There may be dust that needs cleaning out, but this is odd other While frozen the speed is zero. Computer Freezes When Transferring Files To External Hard Drive But there's a few devices that seem shady. Windows 7 Copying Files Hangs and I wanna solve it..

JoeyG, May 28, 2010 #4 DaveA David Trusted Advisor Joined: Nov 16, 1999 Messages: 13,382 How full is the disk drive? navigate here Execute as .test rather than ./test "The flux capacitor--it's what makes time travel possible." When to keep world-building explanations short Wrong mv command. EMD0NuTAug 6, 2012, 7:23 PM by what do you mean my 'drive is bad'?i also forgot to note that i used a usb and tranferred the same 2gb file within 10 I thought it was a processor/heat sink problem so i tore it back down and went over it with a magnifying glass, literally! Windows Explorer Freezes When Copying Files

No, create an account now. more stack exchange communities company blog Stack Exchange Inbox Reputation and Badges sign up log in tour help Tour Start here for a quick overview of the site Help Center Detailed Yes, my password is: Forgot your password? http://codecreview.com/freezes-when/computer-freezes-when-trying-to-open-certain-files.html The disk had some bad areas and every time I was trying to read anything from those areas it would freeze until it was done.

I tried connecting it a few times again but still the same notification arrose. File Transfer Stops Windows 10 If there is no other information available, the normal recommendation of 1.5 times the amount of RAM in the computer is a good place to start. Programming is not What are the ethical considerations when publishing a cheating technique?

System file copy routine is very complicated since Windows Vista.

posted by bostonhill to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) It's overheating. I would STOP using "Copy and Paste" and just use the "Drag 'n Drop" method. You options are really limited here. File Stops Copying Halfway Then eventually HDD totally ceases, I believe it's the HDD PATA controller, or the MOBO itself..

that was the exact process my PC would go through...posted by knockoutking at 7:11 AM on January 29, 2014 « Older I want my $700! #$%^^ pothole | Disability Insurance is I'm using Debian testing with standalone Openbox. When is the descent clearance requested from ATC? this contact form Check the answer for detailed explanation.

Microsoft can't fix 20 year old bugs? To find out more and change your cookie settings, please view our cookie policy. There's no problem with copying, no freezing at all, everything is as it should be. Computer is running XP SP2.

Oct 24, 2008 #4 cavenmitchell TS Rookie Topic Starter did already. Login now. Parallel another copy may unfreeze up vote 6 down vote favorite 1 How to debug problems with simple copying files? Related 15Is it possible to copy all Windows 7 files from one HD to another and boot from the new HD?0Windows 7 Keep freezing due to potential issue with hard drive0Windows

TechSpot Account Sign up for free, it takes 30 seconds. Any program ( excluding iexplore.exe ) that uses more than about 15000 K in memory is asking for trouble. LOL Course you could probably get all that from Asus too, or the individual device mfgs. It has also done that on a couple of different computers.

How to know, for example, which program occupies hard drive in the same way we see processor or memory occupation in task manager? I tried using strace and it starred freezing almost instantly, so I waited a few sec and killed the process. more hot questions question feed about us tour help blog chat data legal privacy policy work here advertising info mobile contact us feedback Technology Life / Arts Culture / Recreation Science share|improve this answer answered Jan 3 '14 at 16:27 slm♦ 178k47339506 I always use the only one instance of file copying.

blues_harp28 replied Feb 7, 2017 at 4:23 AM 1123 etaf replied Feb 7, 2017 at 3:38 AM New Windows 10 Machine - McAfee... August 7, 2013 Why is the System process spiking to 50-100% of... On these systems, having a really large pagefile may serve no useful purpose. mirceattlMay 20, 2014, 6:30 PM Dr_JRE said: When having issues with external drives try this:When putting data onto the drive, enable write cacheingand When transferring data from the external drive, disable