Home > Hard Drive > Computer Doesnt Detect My Slave Hard Drive

Computer Doesnt Detect My Slave Hard Drive

Contents

The data may have become corrupted. solved I custom built a PC but hard drive isn't being detected (after white smoke+burning smell!) solved My hard drive isn't being detected? He's Dead, Jim Of course, your computer won't recognize the hard drive if it's broken. Reply to DrDoctor emperor pieheadAug 15, 2012, 5:03 AM yes it does spin up when i start my computer it sounds a bit funny but then it sounds like it should http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/computer-will-not-boot-after-installation-of-new-hard-drive-as-primary-slave.html

Try your jumper settings on the new drive,maybe slave?There are guys here better than me,be cool. Disk 1 has 3 partitions, H, I, and J. Report AAW- Jan 3, 2010 at 09:16 AM WOW! The drive should have two cables connecting to it. http://ccm.net/forum/affich-32218-2nd-sata-hard-drive-not-shown-on-my-computer

Second Hard Drive Not Showing Windows 10

Is this correct, and if so does it work on secondary drives as well? SUBSCRIBEAs low as $1.00/week Home Local In Local Neighborhoods Houston & Texas Traffic Weather Education Politics & Policy Election 2013 Chronicle Investigates Obituaries Staff Blogs Reader Blogs Columnists Opinions & Editorials Just say'n! the program Recovers random areas of the Disk (Garbage) and names the (fake recovered) files after the files that you lost...

Also, make sure you copy your data off before converting the drive to NTFS - you mention it like it may be a prerequisite, but it's not. This may or may not be applicable in this case but it was an issue during the period. One of the answers solved my problem of installing a second SATA HDD and it not showing as a lettered drive. Internal Hard Drive Not Showing Up I would use the second port on the IDE cable.

Any suggestions? Report davidnleeh4- Dec 28, 2008 at 01:56 AM Thank you naturalspeed for your information! Reply to Runder23 hamburger5003May 26, 2015, 2:31 AM jitpublisher said: Did you go into Control Panel, Administrative tools, disk management and initialize the disk and assign it a drive letter? http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/288394-32-computer-detecting-hard-drive Box 4260 Houston, Texas 77210–4260 © Copyright 2017 Hearst Newspapers, LLC Skip to main content.

Reports: · Posted 8 years ago Top Haddo Posts: 10 This post has been reported. Installing Second Sata Hard Drive Without Raid If this is the case the only way your drive will be recognized is if it boots itself or is in a system where the master drive also has an overlay. Why is it not showing up on my computer to be used? So as I moved it to the second port, WA-LA, it saw it.

Hard Drive Not Showing Up In Disk Management

Regards, Rick P. you can try this out Thanks. Second Hard Drive Not Showing Windows 10 Report Ben- May 8, 2010 at 10:45 AM thanks you for your explanation, is clear and easy to understand for newbie like me Report ali- Jun 7, 2010 at 01:34 PM Second Hard Drive Not Showing Windows 7 The LEDs on the drive are blinking and you can hear it spin up, but thats about it.

Powered by vBulletin Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/configuring-second-hard-drive.html how do I initialize it and assign a letter? If the jumper and cable are in conflict, the drive may not be recognized. Thanks again for all the suggestions. Hard Drive Not Showing Up In Bios

Subscribe to our newsletter Sign Up Team Terms of Use Contact Policies CCM Benchmark Group health.ccm.net 2nd SATA Hard Drive not shown on my computer - page 2 Articles & try their website perhaps. Try booting the old drive in single or as a stand alone mode on the secondary channel with no other IDE devices attached. http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/computer-has-died-and-won-t-detect-hard-drive.html If that does not appear in the list I would try select CD-rom first, then stiffy etc.

Report wcasado- Apr 4, 2009 at 08:21 AM Thanks Thank you XPCMAN your post is fantastic. Internal Hard Drive Not Showing Up In Disk Management Jun 25, 2009 #2 hardwareman TS Rookie Topic Starter They are IDE. This is not only a bootable partition, but it is *the* partition that the operating system is currently booted and running from.

The problem is why is “Drive D” not showing up in “My Computer”?

Ill Logik View Public Profile Find all posts by Ill Logik #10 01-27-2005, 07:59 PM RevCo Guest Join Date: Mar 2003 Quote: Originally Posted by Ill Logik I It won't show up in Windows until you do this. We need more info in order to help you. Hard Drive Unallocated He is a web developer for a communications company and previously worked in television.

Regards, Rick P. The IDE cable remains connected all the time. Comstock/Comstock/Getty Images Related Articles [Computer Ca] | When a Computer Can't Find the Hard Drive but Says to Press F1 to Continue [WD Passport] | How to Switch a WD Passport Check This Out However, when I go on to my comptuer, I don't see the new hard drive.

It gave the message "Abort, Retry, Fail". thanks a lot to the person who posted this! 1 2 3 Next Ask a question Member requests are more likely to be responded to. Both drives show up in Disk Management. “Drive C” which has the operating system says “Healthy (System)”, while “Drive D” says “Healthy (Active)”. Already have an account?

Power off your computer and unplug the power cord from the back. I perviously used Computer managment to format the new internal HD but that did nothing. Report gunfucious- Jul 24, 2010 at 06:15 PM You are the man or woman. The time now is 04:47 AM.

Seriously, thank you! Get the answer emperor pieheadAug 14, 2012, 10:39 AM none of that is working Reply to emperor piehead dingo07Aug 14, 2012, 11:25 AM Is it listed in the BIOS? Each ribbon can connect to two drives known as a master and a slave. Do I need to format it first?

Tom's Hardware Around the World Tom's Hardware Around the World Denmark Norway Finland Russia France Turkey Germany UK Italy USA Subscribe to Tom's Hardware Search the site Ok About Tom's Hardware You may also... This machine has (6) drives so I went to a Volume and could mark it (ACTIVE) in the GUI, HOWEVER you are correct. Pull straight out with slow, even pressure so you don't bend the pins. 4.

Anyone can get the Deleted file list... Finally became smart and reworded my google search "installing second sata hard drive without raid" and this was the first link that google came up with. The theory is that you are not hot swapping the drive, but simply not powering it on. This will stop any power saving commands from being sent.Turn on the system.

If BIOS can't see the drive, install the hard drive in another computer to rule out if the hard drive or computer itself is to blame for the problem -- if Go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt.