Home > Hard Drive > Computer Will Not Boot After Installation Of New Hard Drive As Primary Slave

Computer Will Not Boot After Installation Of New Hard Drive As Primary Slave

Contents

Also contributing to this is that I recently bought a new graphics cards. Reply curt on July 12, 2009 at 9:49 am You probably already figured it out…. Thanks for the instructions! Thank you in advance and I cordially greet . http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/computer-doesnt-detect-my-slave-hard-drive.html

you may need to upgrade your computer or run a configuratio jnprogram provided by the manufacturer. Take it to your local electronics shop and they'll give you a replacement (Radio Shack, Best Buy, etc….). Check the BIOS again to see if the drive is now properly detected. As it is full of data and pictures I do not want to reformat it. http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1664309/boot-installing-sata-hard-disk.html

Installed New Hard Drive Windows Won't Boot

This was more than enough to help even the Lowest level of expearance Swap or add a hard drive!!!I want to say Thank YOU!!! I though that Windows 7 Installation DVD will help, but it doesn't. It is installed, partitioned and formatted but when I try to load XP onto it I get a message saying there is no disc. Some SATA drives also support familiar legacy Molex four-pin power connectors—you can use a Molex or SATA connector.

This also works for damaged or corrupted partition tables. Seagate 160GB Bios …. ok the c drive does not have that much memary i took the c drive out and tryed to put a new one in but the hook ups on the drive Once Installed What Needs To Be Done To The Drive And What Do These Two Tasks Do Should I try Cable select?

The computer bios recognizes the two hard drives, but Windows does not see the second hard drive. Windows Won't Boot With Second Hard Drive If you have a SATA drive, you do not need to worry about jumpers. At this point, you may want to make some quick sketches of just how everything is in there: Which direction is everything facing? check that aeternum91Feb 15, 2014, 5:31 AM I swapped the SATA cables around and even tested them with both SATA 2 and 3.

Did you try to hot plug the former boot drive to see what it does? –Mixxiphoid Sep 11 '12 at 6:02 Yeah, I wondered whether for some reason the There Are Two Tasks That Need To Be Done With A Hard Drive Before The Operating System Can Use It. Or if it's an IDE drive a=have you tried hooking it up to the secondary IDE controller? Beyond the OS issue, the machine may or may not co-operate.Can you complete your question? IDE hard drives have settings for master, slave and cable select.

Windows Won't Boot With Second Hard Drive

TX Reply thenson on August 14, 2007 at 9:51 pm I was told that I fried my mother board from a local docal {dumb corner guy) 2nd hand computor store. https://www.pcmech.com/article/installing-a-hard-drive-step-by-step/ There are no jumpers to worry about on SATA drives. Installed New Hard Drive Windows Won't Boot Thanks, Duane Reply Andypandy on April 4, 2008 at 6:28 pm Thanks for this great info, it made my job soooo much easier. Computer Won't Power On With Hard Drive Plugged In Supposing the Missing Operating System error appears due to unsteady connection, the hard disk would appear in BIOS again after reconnection, and then Windows might be bootable.

Flag Permalink This was helpful (1) Collapse - thank you sooo much for the post by buju357 / April 26, 2011 11:10 AM PDT In reply to: You saved my life http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/computer-will-not-boot-after-removing-2nd-hard-drive.html But don't be surprised if your formatted drive has less capacity than the package claims. it started booting slow then slower after a window 7 update which was attempting to install IE11 which failed repeatedly. October 6, 2011 Joe Red I have exactly the same problem. Replaced Hard Drive Wont Boot

New Hard Drive Does Not Show Up In BIOS The very first thing to check are the jumpers if you have an IDE drive. I have some data on the HDD (1) and I do not want to erase with the formatting and then the question is: how can I restore the MBR file, or The hard drive on my Fujitsu-Siemens (windows xp) computer has started acting up. weblink Well, in June it went down again, this time I never downloaded anything and adult porn was out the question.

Solution for me was re-arrangaing power distribution. Windows 7 Won't Boot With Second Hard Drive SATA gets it's own channel and, as of this date, SATA DVD drives are very uncommon.Materials RequiredHard driveCopy of the hard drive manual (if you need to set jumpers; this can When it runs a self test the drive is detected but only when I press f1 to enter setup and then it will not enter setup.

If I use the command line utility from the same DVD, I can see both my C: and D: partitions are there, with all files, I can see all my directories,

to a point that i had to pres the F8 key in order to boot the old hard drive witch was competing on the boot up with the new failed boot The second, however, from 2000, started making squealing sounds and frequent hollow-sounding quite high-pitched clicks. So i can't see my hard in bios or in my computer, what should i do next? Installed A New Hard Drive Now Computer Won't Turn On i have two internal HDDs one is WD(two years old) and a new samsung(master)..

Don't overlook this. February 11, 2012 Dave Well, my suggestion would be a new computer. UrLastBr3thFeb 15, 2012, 10:00 PM Hello,I have built my own custom computer about a month and a half ago. http://codecreview.com/hard-drive/computer-won-t-boot-with-second-hard-drive.html Booting from the old drive allows recognition of the new drive no problem, just can't boot from the new one.

For example Microsoft does not offer booting Windows from USB today. he said I don't know but you fried your set like a blackman handling chicken in a kitchen! ?!?!?