Home > Shuts Down > Computer Jsut Shuts Off.

Computer Jsut Shuts Off.

Contents

You know those power supplies that don't quit make a good connection at the motherboard plug. by klappjack / June 18, 2011 11:09 PM PDT In reply to: Sounds like you have tried everything I have seen some failures caused by the sleep key being gummed up It's first strike is blink out go the lights, then if you leave your pc alone it will reboot itself after a few minutes. Turned out to be the 3-month old PSU from Thermaltake. Check This Out

If that is that the case, the only solution is to replace it. The only other thing I've had my freinds suggest is "there might be a short somewhere" which is well out of my skill level to find much less fix. If the computer does not turn off after staying idle in CMOS, your operating system installation may be corrupt. PCWorld | Aug 27, 2008 4:32 AM PT Email a friend To Use commas to separate multiple email addresses From Privacy Policy Thank you Your message has been sent. http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000689.htm

Computer Randomly Shuts Down Not Overheating

Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Answer Try checking event viewer by GENE8 / June 17, 2011 5:31 PM PDT In reply to: computer just shuts down... Report • #18 Fingers March 20, 2013 at 20:14:06 Most likely a cheap power supply with poorly made connectors. I've had the computer on for well over an hour now, but it shut off after 5 mins the time before. Overheating Computers come with heat sinks and fans to keep the CPU cool because if this component overheats the computer will shut down so that the CPU isn't damaged any further.

Hardware related issues Tip: Before attempting to remove any hardware, rule out hardware conflicts by checking Device Manager for errors. Before opening your case, be aware of the dangers of ESD. Report • #11 Gretti April 24, 2012 at 15:49:03 ✔ Best AnswerOkay, your ram should run fine at 1.5v no need for a voltage bump. Computer Randomly Turns Off And Wont Turn Back On Although intended for adjusting fans to fine-tune the heat, noise, and power balance, SpeedFan also displays the CPU temperature in the system tray.

I too had a old P5B deluxe board that would just crash and it was the 500W antec power supply I was using, the power supply was not defective as I Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10 Any failing hardware component in your computer could cause your computer to unexpectedly turn off without warning. With that information, go to CPU World to find your processor's temperature information.What can you do to relieve overheating problems? his explanation Share Tweet PC shuts down unexpectedly PC Advisor Phones Smartphone reviews Best smartphones Smartphone tips Smartphone buying advice Smartphone deals Laptops Laptops reviews Laptops tips Best laptops Laptops buying advice Tablets

Tip: Check the processor heat sink to make sure it is properly seated and has the correct amount of thermal compound. Computer Suddenly Turns Off And Wont Turn Back On Caution: If you do remove the processor heat sink, thermal compound should be cleaned off and new thermal compound should be applied. Other failing hardware If your computer turns off abnormally during (or just after) installation of your operating system, it is likely that other hardware is failing in the computer. Works every time.

Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10

Please try again now or at a later time. click site While the PC is open, note the position of the internal cables. Computer Randomly Shuts Down Not Overheating I will be sure to try the power button the next time it powers off to confirm. Computer Shuts Down Randomly Windows 7 QUESTION Since I installed a new motherboard and processor, my PC has been shutting down unexpectedly.

I tried running the system with the video card in or out I watched the computer temps to make sure it wasn't overheating. his comment is here Start by verifying the fan on the power supply is working by examining the back of the computer. Instead, verify the fan on the side of the computer is working and blowing out hot air. If you have heard any abnormal noises coming from your computer, such as a high squealing sound, it could be an indication of a fan malfunction. Computer Shuts Down Unexpectedly

It did not fix the problem though, as my computer just shut off again after a few hours.If i weren't afraid of randomly losing my design work, I'd accept a random See in Thread ↓#1 Gretti April 22, 2012 at 15:57:12 Well the first thing I would do is to check the windows system log and see if there is anything strange I looked all over the bios UI and never saw a mention of logs or system events. this contact form I turned up the memory voltage from my system default at 15V, to 17V, and it said overclock failed, so I put it to 16V and it turns on.

Replacing motherboards are not for the faint of heart! My Computer Keeps Turning Off By Itself I will try to change the memory voltage specifically tomorrow. If this resolves your problem, you may have a defective surge protector or UPS.

The stick has a lot of numbers on it, the only ones that make sense to me are clock: 1600mhzvoltage: 1.50Vtiming i think: 9-9-9-24also:CM212GX3M3A1600C9829491114004082which must be part/model numbers I guess.

check the cables the the board and specially the cables to the graphic card .2.remove the mobi from the chassis and place it on a non conductive surface and start testing YesNo Feedback E-mail Share Print Search Recently added pages View all recent updates Useful links About Computer Hope Site Map Forum Contact Us How to Help Top 10 pages Follow us Issue with operating system If after following each of the above recommendations your computer still continues to shut off, it is possible you are experiencing a problem at the operating system Laptop Shuts Down Randomly YesNo Feedback E-mail Share Print Search Recently added pages View all recent updates Useful links About Computer Hope Site Map Forum Contact Us How to Help Top 10 pages Follow us

Watch the reported CPU speed and try running some more processor-intensive applications to see whether the increase in processor speed coincides with the crash. If you have recently added any new hardware, remove it from the computer to make sure it is not the cause of the problem. Brian Cooley found it for you at CES 2017 in Las Vegas and the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. http://codecreview.com/shuts-down/computer-shuts-down.html Make sure there are not too many devices connected to your UPS and that it has the latest software updates.

If these steps don't help, take it to a professional. You can estimate this value from the processor speeds you managed to achieve while running TMonitor earlier. Steps on how to test your computer memory for errors. What should be the temperature of my processor?

Of course if you reinstalled the operating system then reinstalled dozens of games, apps, and other software you might still have a problem there and not be able to pinpoint it. Reboot the computer and enter CMOS setup as the computer is booting. Normally, a stuck key with cause beeping when you power on, but, for whatever reason, this did not. While you can replace the power supply yourself, don't try to open the power supply.

If you monitor the clock speed of your processor with a utility like CPUID's TMonitor, available here: tinyurl.com/Ljbwrbj, you may find that the computer shuts down once the CPU reaches a Tip: Working on the interior of your machine provides an opportune time to clean the inside. Caution: Some of the steps below require you to work inside your computer. by Jeff Orloff A sudden computer shutdown can be alarming.

Comments Comments Windows 10 Cloud UK release date and feature rumours: First Windows Cloud screenshots leak 1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years 10 online classes from famous See More: Computer shuts off randomly Report • ✔ Best Answer Gretti April 24, 2012 at 15:49:03 Okay, your ram should run fine at 1.5v no need for a voltage bump. Box 4260 Houston, Texas 77210–4260 © Copyright 2017 Hearst Newspapers, LLC The problem does seem to be power related, and I was alluding to that earlier, I don't think the OP has tested the system with a different power supply yet.

This too can cause the CPU to overheat so keep the insides of the computer clean using compressed air to blow out any foreign objects. Often, the hardware causing the issue will be either the RAM, CPU, Motherboard, Power Supply, or Video card, in that order.