Home > Shuts Down > Computer Randomly Powering Off

Computer Randomly Powering Off

Contents

Note: If your issues are on a laptop, we do not suggest opening the computer. Often, heat related issues occur when the computer is working hard, e.g. Report • #9 Gretti April 24, 2012 at 11:43:58 I wanted you to see what the voltage was on your ram, please take one of your sticks out of your computer The system returned: (22) Invalid argument The remote host or network may be down. this contact form

More like this Five Insane Upgrades That You Should Never Do (and How to Do Them!) My PC Randomly Shuts Down By Itself What to Do When Windows Gets Really Messed Why had this error failed to appear before? Once the house gained a certain temperature, the system shutdown started again.Clearly I was hunting for a temperature issue, but all fans seemed to be working normally. Reply to ur6beersaway unknown101Jun 23, 2013, 11:00 PM ur6beersaway said: Thanks, Any error messages or it just drops out/off? http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000689.htm

Computer Shuts Down Randomly Not Overheating

Problem with UPS or surge protector Make sure any surge protector or Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) is not the cause of your problem by connecting the computer directly to the power All Rights Reserved. In the case of the UPS, there may be other issues, such as a UPS overload or UPS drivers, reporting bad power situations that cause your computer to shutdown.

I don't have a psu tester, or a spare psu, so I can't test it (suggestions?)What's the next step in diagnosing this problem? Report • #19 Gretti March 21, 2013 at 05:13:03 Wow this is an old thread! pretty good. Computer Randomly Turns Off And Wont Turn Back On It is very hard to give a fitting answer to your question without more information about the problem.

Not Overheating by LoneReaper / March 24, 2007 9:04 AM PDT My computer keeps shutting down on its own. Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10 Check that first, then check for other problems like RAM problems, viruses.To check for RAM, use MemTest, and obviously run a virus scan for viruses. Other failing hardware If your computer turns off abnormally during (or just after) installation of your operating system, it is likely that other hardware is failing in the computer. With that information, go to CPU World to find your processor's temperature information.What can you do to relieve overheating problems?

At least here there is an error log that you can review and hopefully gain a clue as to the source.This error log is frustrating because it lists every warning and Laptop Shuts Down Randomly Caution: Some of the steps below require you to work inside your computer. share|improve this answer edited Jul 29 '16 at 7:10 fixer1234 12.5k123152 answered Jul 29 '16 at 6:39 user267838 2613 add a comment| up vote 2 down vote accepted This was a Your power supply should be delivering 3.3-, 5- and 12V inputs to your motherboard, but these can fall outside acceptable ranges if the PSU is under-powered or has developed a fault.

Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10

I saw this on PC Advisor and thought you should see it too. https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/pc-randomly-turns-off-no-bsod-or-restart/8a6da232-04c6-4edb-b81a-2790226f2aba As a result of this the fan was not started and the system did not get warm. Computer Shuts Down Randomly Not Overheating Just leave one out for now. Computer Shuts Down By Itself Use only a moisture-free compressed air canister.

Get the answer ur6beersawayJun 23, 2013, 10:55 PM Thanks, Any error messages or it just drops out/off? weblink However, the question also lacks the necessary information, and this answer might provide a starting point to diagnosing the problem. –Static Storm Jan 3 '16 at 20:39 2 Troubleshooting problems What should be the temperature of my processor? Reply to Jens_1 UBEN09Jan 22, 2016, 6:05 AM bought a new PSU, all good! Computer Shuts Down Randomly Windows 7

In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart A Microsoft rep advised this could No BSOD, no error messages, no reboot. Why didn't Frodo take a map with him? navigate here What do you call someone who refuses to acknowledge their wrongdoing?

Track this discussion and email me when there are updates If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and Computer Turns Off Without Warning If your computer seems to be turning off when executing a certain program at specific times of the day, it could be infected. I looked all over the bios UI and never saw a mention of logs or system events.

It did solve my issue though.

Since I do a lot of photoshopping I want to keep the extra 4 gigs rather than the performance gain from matched memory.I looked into it and I haven't been able Then would shut off. Report • #6 tscott2 April 22, 2012 at 19:58:51 I like the setup; it give me some confidence to hear that you use the same stuff...means the research I did in Computer Shuts Down Unexpectedly That was one of the issues.

Are any of them blocking vents or air flow? Dust, dirt, hair, and other trapped debris can prevent proper air flow, which may lead to overheating. Make sure they’re all spinning. his comment is here A checkdisk was completed with a reboot and all working fine now :).

It may just be overheating and powering down due to this but more detail may be helpful as well. –Walmart Jan 3 '16 at 20:21 1 Second LMFAO_A_JOKE's answer--this is It's just a smarter approach to solving problems. Before opening your case, be aware of the dangers of ESD. by linkit / March 24, 2007 9:29 AM PDT In reply to: PC shutsdown without warning.

No reboot. Report • #18 Fingers March 20, 2013 at 20:14:06 Most likely a cheap power supply with poorly made connectors. I've had the computer on for well over an hour now, but it shut off after 5 mins the time before. Could be the CPU still or many other things.....sp please share your expertise on how you reached that as a remedy.

RMA, never crashed again. Report • #14 tscott2 April 30, 2012 at 09:29:11 I have not had any problems since I updated my BIOS and installed all the motherboard software (I had just the drivers After weeks of trying all else, that was the problem. Instead, verify the fan on the side of the computer is working and blowing out hot air.

Give that a go Hi I am having this problem, I have just installed win 7 and it keeps powering off without warning. I now changed the power plan when plugged in: turn off the display never; put the computer to sleep never. Continuing to use the faulty power supply can result in damage to the computer and should be replaced immediately. As it is though, do you have any other suggestions?

If you have recently added any new hardware, remove it from the computer to make sure it is not the cause of the problem. All Rights ReservedAd Choices The information on Computing.Net is the opinions of its users. If no. I turned up the memory voltage from my system default at 15V, to 17V, and it said overclock failed, so I put it to 16V and it turns on.