Home > Shuts Down > Computer Shuts Down For No Reason

Computer Shuts Down For No Reason

Contents

Report • #19 Gretti March 21, 2013 at 05:13:03 Wow this is an old thread! If not, you may have to replace it. You Might Like Shop Tech Products at Amazon PCWorld PCWorld helps you navigate the PC ecosystem Report • #2 tscott2 April 22, 2012 at 16:20:29 Thanks for the quick reply. navigate here

The problem does seem to be power related, and I was alluding to that earlier, I don't think the OP has tested the system with a different power supply yet. The problem was that it did not have the proper amperage on one of the lines that was required by the board. Make sure they’re all spinning. If no. http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000689.htm

Computer Shuts Down By Itself

Vacuum all the dust out of the case and from around the CPU heat sink. Hardware Failure? What should i start with ?

If the computer does not turn off after staying idle in CMOS, your operating system installation may be corrupt. When they have a problem they don't usually affect the system as a whole, they just quit working.So if we eliminate those two we are left with Motherboard or Processor. If you have a laptop: Make sure that nothing's blocking the vents in any location where you commonly use the PC. Computer Suddenly Turns Off And Wont Turn Back On Does this means that i cant get an AM2 cpu on AM3 motherboard with DDR3 ???

Look for anything that might be blocking the air flow on the inside. Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10 Try PCWizard to see the system temps.Make model info would be helpful.VAPCMD Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Answer Computer just shuts down by trainer464 / June 17, 2011 Also those power supply testers only really work if the power supply is completely dead, not when there is a low amperage situation. http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000689.htm Of course, knowing the CPU's current temperature isn't much use if you don't know the chip's safe parameters.

PC keeps shutting down for no reason (apparently). Computer Shuts Down Randomly Windows 7 Sometimes it will shut down a few minutes after i launch windows, sometimes it will last an hour or two and then will shut down suddentlyI tryed many thing without success- As for the motherboard i'm thinking of Asus M4A77TD socket am3 with 4 DDR3 slots...With my 4GB ram it will cost me 351$ total.... Steps on how to test your computer memory for errors.

Computer Randomly Shuts Down Windows 10

Discussion topics include Intel and AMD CPUs, PC upgrades, installing RAM, hardware compatibilities, installing a new hard drive, custom builds, and gaming rigs.Real-Time ActivityMy Tracked DiscussionsFAQsPoliciesModerators Question computer just shuts down... Report • #17 tscott2 March 20, 2013 at 12:17:09 For me, it was a bad connection between the motherboard and the power supply. Computer Shuts Down By Itself It is not for computers that turn back on (restart), computers that shut off immediately upon powering up, or computers that do not turn on at all. Computer Shuts Down Unexpectedly Both your CPU and graphics card can become extremely hot during normal use, which is why both components come with heat sinks and fans to dissipate the extra heat.

You could buy a new power supply for $30 and swap it in, or if you have a spare case with a power supply, transfer everything to the spare case and check over here solved Laptops keeps shutting down for no reason? I did originally have a different mobo with triple channel, and so I got a set of three, RMAed it and returned the processor for the 2600K, but kept the memory. Tip: Check the processor heat sink to make sure it is properly seated and has the correct amount of thermal compound. Computer Randomly Shuts Down Not Overheating

Similarly, an interruption in the external power may cause the system to reset itself even if the interruption is too short to cause lights to flicker. With the PC off, spray compressed air into the vents to remove dust. We recommended that you erase everything and reinstall Microsoft Windows. his comment is here Replacing motherboards are not for the faint of heart!

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Copyright Policy Why Does My Computer Turn Off By Itself Windows 7 It's first strike is blink out go the lights, then if you leave your pc alone it will reboot itself after a few minutes. king smpApr 16, 2011, 3:20 PM well zulfadhli if you can pick out an inexpensive good amd board that would be best for him then you just might get a best

An overheating power supply, due to a malfunctioning fan, can cause a computer to shut off unexpectedly.

Often, the hardware causing the issue will be either the RAM, CPU, Motherboard, Power Supply, or Video card, in that order. More like this Five Insane Upgrades That You Should Never Do (and How to Do Them!) My PC Randomly Shuts Down By Itself What to Do When Windows Gets Really Messed If that is that the case, the only solution is to replace it. My Computer Keeps Turning Off By Itself Last guess motherboard.

Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Answer Try checking event viewer by GENE8 / June 17, 2011 5:31 PM PDT In reply to: computer just shuts down... Use only a moisture-free compressed air canister. If you already have one installed, make sure your virus scanner definitions are up-to-date, then run a full scan. weblink Check to make sure the power supply is operating as it should.

Brian Cooley found it for you at CES 2017 in Las Vegas and the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. Before opening your case, be aware of the dangers of ESD. It did not fix the problem though, as my computer just shut off again after a few hours.If i weren't afraid of randomly losing my design work, I'd accept a random To see if this is the case, try the steps below.

When it powers down, it sits for some time and then powers up again after a short time (5-10 secs) without me doing anything. The next time your PC shuts down by itself, you can try going into event viewer right after you turn the PC back on.Event viewer might be able to tell you Well the first thing to find out is if it is hardware or software.If it was software, then the ultimate correction is reformatting the hard drive, and reinstalling the operating system. After you have loaded the computer in CMOS setup, let the computer sit.

I replaced it with a 750W thermaltake and never had a problem after that. ungovernableApr 17, 2011, 1:05 AM Wikipedia in french said that AM2 will fit AM3 board but only with DDR2.... ghnader hsmithotApr 14, 2011, 10:59 PM And could you try to stress test the parts you havent changed?Cpu with Prime, Checking ram with memtest.I think it should be the Mobo in If it is, move the cable aside.Turn on the PC and check the fans.

Instead, verify the fan on the side of the computer is working and blowing out hot air. solved changed battery and now computer keeps shutting down while trying to start up solved Computer keeps shutting down for no reason My computer keeps shutting down for no apparent reason Caution: Some of the steps below require you to work inside your computer.