Home > Turns On > Computer Fails/shuts Down After About 5 Seconds

Computer Fails/shuts Down After About 5 Seconds

Contents

The decision making process behind your reasons for making the recommendations is much clearer.Click to expand... We unpluged the tower button and now it is working perfectly. So, I'd replaced it and test the PCs, everything go well. Thanks in advance 6 answers Last reply Jun 5, 2015 Best Answer Jun 5, 2015 More about computer shuts seconds alexoiuJun 4, 2015, 3:10 PM If starting the board with only Source

I swapped the PSU with another 500w one, no change. I can get it to stop by holding down the power button for 10 seconds. Dust? solved PC shuts down itself after few seconds solved Computer randomly shuts down, then restarts after 5 seconds.

Computer Turns On Then Off Repeatedly

But if you can you might try resetting it to default. Join the community here, it only takes a minute. I dont have other cables now connected other than the CPU speaker, and power switch(No LED cables conencted, just to try narrow down), no CD, FDD, HDD connected, just a video

alexoiu said: Now unplug the 8 pin power cable, connect 1-2 case fans to the motherboard, start it and see if still same. it DID power up, and has been running fine since, on multiple shut downs and reboots. Get the answer alyoshkaFeb 1, 2012, 7:40 PM Remove the processor and check very carefully if you've bent a pin by mistake. Cpu Power Header I have tried disconnecting the optical drives' data and power cables and that did not help.I suspect it is the board or the power supply.

and rigid only good in some applicatons, kow wut I mean? Computer Turns On For A Few Seconds Then Shuts Off Ariesjill, Dec 22, 2007 #41 Bob Cerelli Joined: Nov 2, 2002 Messages: 22,468 Huh? Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Let's try simple. https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/new-built-computer-turns-on-for-5-seconds-then-shuts-off-296925/ almost 3 years...

A little more about a shorted wire. New Pc Build Turns On Then Off I assume it is not making it through POST. is it possible that a bad fan would cause this to happen? I removed almost any part (I didnt remove cpu fan because I don't have thermal paste right now) and then I mounted again.

Computer Turns On For A Few Seconds Then Shuts Off

Track this discussion and email me when there are updates If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and by adam75500 / October 20, 2015 1:09 PM PDT In reply to: New Built Computer turns on for 5 seconds then shuts off.. Computer Turns On Then Off Repeatedly The on-for-5-second-off-for-5-seconds cycling stops and the machine shuts off. Computer Starts Then Shuts Off Immediately This means that one of the devices you removed is causing your computer to turn off by itself.

The PSUs that come with cases don't enjoy the best reputations. 0 OPDiscussion Starter joshSCH 1,062 9 Years Ago hah true that.. http://codecreview.com/turns-on/computer-turn-on-off-in-seconds.html Look for capacitors with bulging tops or foam leaking out of them. Another thing is that once it starts running it gives me no problem whatsoever, even rebooting doesnt cause problems, but once i shut down my PC it starts giving this problem VAPCMD ftw! New Pc Build Turns On And Off Repeatedly

more stack exchange communities company blog Stack Exchange Inbox Reputation and Badges sign up log in tour help Tour Start here for a quick overview of the site Help Center Detailed That 20 seconds is a sign of other issues if just a drop doesn't change the behavior. Where to use std::variant over union? http://codecreview.com/turns-on/computer-shuts-off-after-5-seconds.html Ask a Question See Latest Posts TechSpot Forums are dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.

the only other thing i thought of is you said that you have the reset switch hooked up to the pins for power because the power switch wouldn't come on at Built Computer Turns On For A Second Putting the board on cardboard and start. Join the community here, it only takes a minute.

I was then able to wake it up with a mouse click or key press and everything came back up normally.When I used the "real" Vista shutdown, it worked fine.

share|improve this answer edited Nov 26 '11 at 1:47 answered Nov 25 '11 at 20:06 Scott Chamberlain 25.4k56785 Do you have any idea why the system keeps running for I wasn't the one who fixed it and to be honest, I thought my friend who did this was wasting his time, but thankfully he didn't take any notice of my I saw the paste was there( an ash color).Is that something I need to add more(thick layer)? Clearing The Cmos I tried again and again, and got the same every time.

thanks for all your help 0 runningshoes 6 Years Ago I have the exact same problem as josh. what qualifies as a "good one", I'm still debating what kind to get Oct 13, 2006 #9 streblo TS Rookie yes, I meant PSU. Whatever and however you determine what the problem is - power supply, motherboard, processor etc. - and depending on your comfort level with your experience for replacing the defective component, either Check This Out I am not annoyed enough yet by this to drop another $130 on a PS just to see if it goes away.I've not tried to do any overclocking.

Here's How to Tell Article Solutions for a Computer That Won't Go Past the Startup Options Article How to Fix a Blue Screen of Death Article How to Fix a Computer if you did please tell me what you did Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Just a tip. still 5 seconds? My desk is made of wood, but just to be sure I put the anti-static bag from the MoBo package onto the cardboard box of my videocard (I had to create

Related Resources solved Computer randomly shuts down, then restarts after 5 seconds. I re-seated the RAM modules and it starting working again. If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started. Any help in selecting a good replacement for my M2N32 will be greatly appreciated.

but, I do not think i am overloading my current power supply, I unplugged everything except mb and my hd, and I still get the same problem. Using what? Proffitt Forum moderator / July 21, 2008 7:10 AM PDT In reply to: HeatSink compound If you put a heatsink on, take it off then you need just a little more A few other things that come to mind, Bad mobo sensor, reading a high temp, and cutting itself off.

I will try to plug into the case now. Am I experiencing a zapped BIOS flash-rom? Relax, babe....it's Christmas. Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other usersIllegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal contentOffensive: Sexually explicit or offensive languageSpam: Advertisements or commercial links Submit report Cancel report Track this discussion

Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed. No really, I got that, Bob. I don't have a compatible stick of ram to test the system, only my 2 old ones, but I hardly believe a bad stick of ram could make the system shut