Home > Turns On > Computer Shuts Off After 5 Seconds

Computer Shuts Off After 5 Seconds

Contents

permalinkembedsaveparentgive gold[–][deleted] 0 points1 point2 points 2 years ago(0 children)The only thing I can think of is trying with a different PSU or motherboard or CPU unfortunately. permalinkembedsavegive gold[–]poorixTA 0 points1 point2 points 2 years ago(0 children)assuming you got paste change right. No other add-in cards or drives (hard drive, DVD-ROM, etc.) should be connected. did u fix your pc? navigate here

SteXist 28,714 views 2:01 How to possibly fix a PC that will turn on but will not beep and will not display anything on screen - Duration: 22:19. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Used a debit card to delicately remove 95% of the dried paste and cleaned the rest off until it looked good as new. Press the Power button or bios button "doesn’t matter which one" it beeps once.

Computer Turns On Then Off Repeatedly

Jul 7, 2010 #4 baldyman10 TS Rookie Topic Starter mailpup said: ↑ Are you using the onboard video or do you have a separate video card? w/e AMD FX 9370 processor click here M5A99FX Pro R2.0 mother board click here Professional series HX 750 watt Gold plus power supply click here vengeance DDR3 1866 MHZ ram 16GB The bios has a temperature limit when it gets too hot it will shut the system down to protect it from turning your computer into a re-enactment of the fukushima nuclear

permalinkembedsaveparentgive gold[–]breachless 0 points1 point2 points 2 years ago(0 children)Sounds to me to be most likely a bad power supply. Virus Removal Thread Tools Software DDS (Startups/Diagnostics) HDTune (HDD) Hiren's BootCD HWMonitor (Temp Monitoring) MemTest86+ (RAM) Ninite (Downloader) OldTimer's ListIt (Diagnostics) WinDirStat (File Usage) Tutorials CCNA Professor Messer (CompTIA) Having Tech mmaatt747Oct 12, 2011, 1:27 PM Have you pulled the motherboard out of the case to make sure there are no unused standoffs behind it that might be shorting something out? Computer Starts Then Shuts Off Immediately Rules Posts consisting only of a title/link will be deleted.

Did a very thorough cleaning as it needed it badly. Pc Turns On Then Off Instantly Add to Want to watch this again later? Here's What to Do Article Are You Seeing a Code 29 Error? this content Jul 8, 2010 #10 mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 7,006 +375 Congratulations on solving your problem.

It's just something I'd faced, maybe it will work with you and maybe not. Computer Turns Off After A Few Seconds permalinkembedsavegive gold[–]chaos2011[S] 0 points1 point2 points 2 years ago(0 children)Unfortunately that's not it :/ any other ideas? That is it! Have you tried to start it with the memory removed?

Pc Turns On Then Off Instantly

Additional giveaways are planned. When was the last time you paid the electric bill? Computer Turns On Then Off Repeatedly All Rights Reserved. Computer Turns On And Off By Itself Jevgeni Demidov 9,007 views 1:13 Computer Turns Off - Quick Fix - Duration: 3:02.

How To Fix a Computer That Turns On and Then OffThis process could take anywhere from minutes to hours depending on why the computer turns off so quickly after being turned check over here I can also just cycle the toggle switch on the PS and that seems to always allow the thing to start normally afterwards.I built this machine about 2 weeks ago. Opened up case to find the whole heat sink hanging there well thanks Gateway when they replaced my Power supply they hit the heat sink so hard it broke the plastic Need help? Pc Turns On Then Off Then On Again

It's possible you put too much on, or it's not seated properly. (This would explain the BSOD's as well.) I'd recommend checking your thermal paste and surrounding area on the motherboard, I will try to plug into the case now. Hi thanks for the replay. http://codecreview.com/turns-on/computer-fails-shuts-down-after-about-5-seconds.html I can get it to stop by holding down the power button for 10 seconds.

Britec09 269,597 views 10:37 Computer won't turn on easy fix - Duration: 2:22. Pc Turns On Then Off Then On Again And Boots Normally I'm gonna be available for another ~4 hours so I'm ready to try anything. Desktops forum About This ForumCNET's Forum on desktop PCs is the best source for finding help, troubleshooting, and getting buying advice from a community of experts.

IF IT IS A LAPTOP, REMOVE THE BATTERY.

Connect the display to the onboard video connector. I've seen that short out a PC and cause it to do what you describe. 10-25-2011, 07:20 AM mensaguy Location: WV and Eastport, ME 8,586 posts, read 8,392,989 times TechSpot is a registered trademark. Computer Turns On For A Few Seconds Then Shuts Off permalinkembedsaveparentgive gold[–]ifactor 2 points3 points4 points 2 years ago(3 children)So, I'm just speculating but that could be the issue.

When you tested the RAM with memtest, how many passes did you try?Click to expand... Tech Reviews Tech News Tech How To Best Tech Reviews Tech Buying Advice Laptop Reviews PC Reviews Printer Reviews Smartphone Reviews Tablet Reviews Wearables Reviews Storage Reviews Antivirus Reviews Latest Deals ProximonOct 12, 2011, 5:59 PM Just do the checklist completely please.http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-boot-video-problems Ask a new question Read More Homebuilt Computer Systems Related Resources solved Computer starts then shuts off and restarts after http://codecreview.com/turns-on/computer-turn-on-off-in-seconds.html Trusted Techs Proven-skills collaborators will have their usernames marked with a .

Preview post Submit post Cancel post You are reporting the following post: New Built Computer turns on for 5 seconds then shuts off.. N/H I tried turning it on with no power to the graphics card it was N/H. I turn it on for the first time, fans and led lights go on for about 5-10 seconds then shuts off without anything showing up on the monitor. If you here what sounds like small rocks banging around, it's likely that you have loose screws inside the case.

Report vivek- May 22, 2011 at 10:23 AM awesome....you are genius.... Discussion topics include Intel and AMD CPUs, PC upgrades, installing RAM, hardware compatibilities, installing a new hard drive, custom builds, and gaming rigs.Real-Time ActivityMy Tracked DiscussionsFAQsPoliciesModerators General discussion New Built Computer Thanks for all the advice mailpup. By installing each device back into your computer and testing after each installation, you'll eventually find the hardware that caused your problem.Replace the faulty hardware once you've identified it.

Is it the mobo, CPU or what? Could be a short curcuit on the gpu after overload. EDIT: Ignore this. The button should act like a door bell button.

Please try again now or at a later time.