Home > Windows 10 > Computer Freezing When Starting Certain Programs

Computer Freezing When Starting Certain Programs

Contents

All Rights Reserved Tom's Hardware Guide ™ Ad choices Articles & News Forum Graphics & Displays CPU Components Motherboards Games Storage Overclocking Tutorials All categories Chart For IT Pros Get How to update a Microsoft Windows computer. Hard drives are cheap compared to data recovery fees.Bob Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Back to Computer Help forum 4 total posts Popular Forums icon Computer Help 51,912 discussions icon Or could it be a hardware failure somewhere? have a peek here

May 12, 2008 Programs locking up when opening any image, big, small, animated Aug 1, 2008 Error message at start up and when opening programs Jul 29, 2011 Add New Comment solved PC Randomly Freezes While playing games. solved High pitched squeal/freeze coming from my computer while running certain applications? It normally requires I just reboot and its fixed. navigate to these guys

Computer Freezes Windows 10

It might take some sleuthing to find out what's freezing up your computer, but these tips will help. Then uncheck them all.  Windows 8.1 or 10Boot normally. My System Specs System Manufacturer/Model Number HP's, Dell's OS Win-7HP, VistaHP, XP CPU AMD Athlon II 240 dual-core processor 5050E 2,6 GHz Memory 6GB Graphics Card 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 220

But the difference here is that in Vista it goes back to normal state after 3-4 minutes and the computer works as it should. Was this page useful? So when I can get on I am able to do anything but, when I start playing games or opening up lots of programs it will freeze again. i do see where you have 6gb of ram but way it seems is something might be going out or bad and cant handle the amount they are suppose to.

Installation & Setup Radeon HD 2600XT (AGP) - freezes at 'Starting Windows'Hey Guys, Well, as the title suggests - I have an AGP HD2600, and whenever I install the ATI Display Windows 10 Clean Boot After cleaning the dust from my PC, my system briefly freezes after starting up certain programs. All Rights Reserved. https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/616362/freezes-when-starting-certain-programs/ I don't know where the culprit is.

I have all the latest drivers installed, then re-installed.The specs are as follows (no parts are overclocked):i7 4770K - Corsair H100iMSI z78 GD-65MSI GTX 770Corsair 16GB 1866MHz Vengeance ProCorsair 860iSamsung 120GB I've done several tests on memory, cpu, graphics card and the hdd's but didn't get any errors. Generally yout problem looks like classic problem with memory chip or overheating (for older processers). If you can get the light to turn off and on, press CTRL + ALT + DEL and End Task the frozen program.

Windows 10 Clean Boot

It should fix errors in your PC and it does, if its because of registry. http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/computer-freezes-up-when-opening-certain-programs.131141/ Host protection seems to be the culprit. Computer Freezes Windows 10 Uninstall all antivirus apps starting with Windows, currently. Should I uninstall both the antivirus and the firewall or just the antivirus?

FWIW - you can upload .zip files here. navigate here Hardware failure If your computer turns off abnormally during or after the installation of your operating system, hardware components inside your computer may be malfunctioning. Have you checked those out manually and what your system is running at ?? / like CPU and process number and amounts ?? I can't see any unknown or weird processes running, I've disabled most of the unneeded in the autostart.

It began with the RTM and now the final build released in october. Ask a question and give support. Then right-click each Enabled one and select Disabled. Once they’re disabledWhen you’re done, reboot. Check This Out Here is my specs, AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4GHz ASUS Crosshair III Formula 790FX/750 chipset Corsair XMS3 DDR3 2x2GB 1600MHz (OC) ASUS EAH-5770 1GB 128bit GDDR5 Cooler Master Silent Pro

Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed. I'll be testing it for a couple days more to be 100% sure that it has been resolved. Also since this time my pc doesn't properly boot from my SSD half of the time(It's not found but via boot manager it works).

Click the Startup tab.Each item has a checkbox.

And it doesn't freeze always, sometimes the computer can be on for a couple of days without rebooting and I start any application normally, but that happen like 1 of 10 Stemple Nadruki Szczecin m 0 l Fizea April 12, 2013 12:42:22 AM Can possibally be a memory narrowing down issue. Get the answer mauller07Aug 4, 2013, 9:58 AM Get rid of avast it is a system hog and can cause these sorts of problems, grab commodo or avg instead. exe application error - the instruction at "0x7472f32a" referanced memory at "0x00002008".

Your cache administrator is webmaster. weird!! Otherwise your thread may be overlooked as it will seem like you are already getting help. this contact form over and over again.

I had this problem on the PC I built before this, and I fixed that by re-installing Windows 7, after that I never had the issue again.However I would like to mauller07Aug 4, 2013, 11:25 AM rootkits run outside of your operating system and can give people access to your system. I have tried to re install this game but it still freezes my whole computer can anybody help. But this time it was a little bit different.

Strange as it shouldnt be that either i wouldnt think but... Besides, it can be because of registry errors too. TechSpot is a registered trademark. Correct placement, swap or try to replace memory chips.

in which case I'm on the account Jul 16, 2009 #10 snowchick7669 TS Maniac Posts: 660 You'll find that the malware you have/had will do this. Driver related issue A computer lock up can also be caused by outdated or corrupted drivers. Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. I have all the latest drivers installed, then re-installed.The specs are as follows (no parts are overclocked):i7 4770K - Corsair H100iMSI z78 GD-65MSI GTX 770Corsair 16GB 1866MHz Vengeance ProCorsair 860iSamsung 120GB

Edit: Btw I saw this thread Vista x64 / 7 x64 freezes due to host protection - Outpost Users Support Forum, where others have similar problems as I do. About a week ago I started having problems opening programs, I'd click the .exe file, the computer would... After reading on some forums I did some tests for the memory and cpu. I've read the posts here.

Now I have uninstalled antivirus and firewall like mentioned in a post above. It should have frozen at least a couple of times during that time. Try running through the basic troubleshooting steps for your version of Windows on our basic troubleshooting page.