Home > Windows 7 > Computer Not Visible On The Network

Computer Not Visible On The Network

Contents

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). I spent several hours on the phone with Mircosoft support and they could not resolved the problem and ultimately 'punted' by suggesting that I should wait for future updates which may This would prevent the file from functioning properly. It worked!!!! http://codecreview.com/windows-7/configuring-the-network-adapters.html

The other computers can see the XP computer and access its files. current community blog chat Super User Meta Super User your communities Sign up or log in to customize your list. To enable File and Printer Sharing, go to the Control Panel, then Network Connections, right-click on Local Area Connection, and choose Properties. rickghouse says: 7 years ago What a great tutorial. http://superuser.com/questions/254331/why-is-windows-7-computer-not-visible-in-network

Computer Not Visible On Network Windows 10

Perhaps one at a time? In fact, for a while, the XP machine could not even get into the workgroup! Your name or email address: Do you already have an account? This is a Dell Latitude, All computers run XP, with Norton antivirus and Windows firewalls, which I have turned off.

other approaches to machine learning Lecturer in a course I'm TA'ing refuses to give feedback on student assignment Is it just me, or is Guiding Bolt horrifically overpowered? it will tell you information such as who the master browser on your network is. Pinging to the router (192.x.x.x) is very quick from both computers. Computer Not Showing Up On Network Mac I am running the network through a hub.

On the General tab, make sure the following protocols are installed and checked: Client for Microsoft Networks File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) If it’s not there, The workstation could see the server ok, and worked normally, but I could not do remote installs to it (eg Trend CSSA). I have similar problems at home and will see if this solution works there. http://windowssecrets.com/forums/showthread.php/162933-Computers-not-listed-in-Windows-explorer-Network Ankit says: 6 years ago Greetings for the day!!

Remy says: 8 years ago To thebetatfemale: If turning off your firewall allows you to see the other computers, what you need to do on your firewall is open the ports Function Discovery Resource Publication After restarting some services now one pc it's ok. Any ideas/help would be appreciated. Here is link to website that walks you though the command prompt process.

Workgroup Computers Not Showing In Windows 7

I've checked permission on all the computers, and they should allow sharing among them. Loading... Computer Not Visible On Network Windows 10 Something like this: In Windows 7 (to access XP) Open Windows Explorer (My Computer or similar) In the address bar type: COMPUTERNAMEDocuments In XP (to access Win7) Open Windows Explorer In Make Computer Visible On Network Windows 7 Many thanks.

See Mary Thompson's post above that is after the recent update and she has a solution. http://codecreview.com/windows-7/computers-don-t-show-up-in-mshome-network.html I connected my PC to my router with the ethernet cable and was able to see my laptop but it said that my accesst was restricsted. This feature is not available right now. All was well until one day the workgroup split in two. Domain Computers Not Showing Up In My Network Places Windows 7

I didn't know about switching between DHCP and static IP until I read this, and that actually helped me fix something. Now the service will be allowed access through the firewall and you will be able to see if in My Network Places. You can do this by going to Control Panel, clicking on Windows Firewall and then clicking on the Exceptions tab. http://codecreview.com/windows-7/configuring-windows-network.html Logon failure the user has not been granted access kyoobix, Oct 12, 2015, in forum: Networking Replies: 3 Views: 5,958 Trouble Oct 13, 2015 Unusual behavior after update to version 1511

Any ideas what I need to do? Windows 10 Network Discovery Not Working My Pentium Dual Core was running very slowly after I changed my anti-virus software from McAfee to Norton. You have to tell it which subnet to allow through the firewall or you have to uninstall it.

But the fourth pc see the nas.

If you can’t ping them, then that means that there is something wrong with the network connection itself. Sign in to make your opinion count. Let me know if you come across any solutions. Windows 7 Network Discovery I can ping other computers but am not able to open shared drives on other computers.

Hope that helps someone out there. However, having no firewall seems like a pretty bad idea. Good luck! navigate here You might not have permission to use this network resource.

Please help me by contact by direct email Thanks chua [email protected] says: 7 years ago I have tried everything here and still my network places is empty. They are both under workgroup called workgroup and IP and DNS are set to auto. A move dictated by my DSL provider. Sign in Share More Report Need to report the video?

The computer is running windows XP and worked fine on my network until it crashed. Sign in to add this video to a playlist. Still not fixed. Published on 27 Jul 2014 Category How-to & Style Licence Standard YouTube Licence Loading...

Ensure that another device is not also running this service and causing a conflict. 1 Tabasco OP Damjo Aug 8, 2013 at 12:41 UTC Thanks Astral,  How do eans says: 7 years ago I use windows vista. Using Belkin Wireless G router. Most Popular Reviews • Microsoft Windows Home Server If you have a home network, you'll welcome the easy file sharing, remote access and the image-based backup features of Windows Home Server.