Home > Windows Xp > Computer Does Not Get Past The Windows XP Home Page.

Computer Does Not Get Past The Windows XP Home Page.

Contents

Verify the computer is receiving power from the AC adapter. And by the way, I don't want to reformat, if it's possible. The prompt should start off at C:\Windows. Ask the community! Source

I would like to find a way to at least get to the Windows desktop so I can recover some folks data. Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed. HP Notebook PCs - Computer Does Not Start (Windows 7, Vista, XP) This document pertains to HP Notebook PCs with Windows 7, Vista, and XP. Feb 7, 2006 #8 N3051M TS Evangelist Posts: 2,115 the password for repair usualy refers to the admin password on xp, not the user/poweruser/admin-rights user.. http://ccm.net/forum/affich-18121-computer-will-not-load-past-welcome-screen

Windows Xp Won't Start

A random thought - unplugged cdrom? If memtest86+ records no errors, another utility executes a function similar to 'chkdsk'. You must have the Windows Operating System Disc (OSD) provided with your HP computer to repair the Master Boot Record (MBR).

By viewing our content, you are accepting the use of cookies. The reverse strategy begins with the last 'touched' device - cdrom in this case. Symptom: LEDs blink or computer beeps but does not start Symptom Possible Cause When you press the power button, some of the LED lights on the keyboard blink or a beep Windows Xp Startup Repair Without Disk Jul 15, 2007 PC Won't Boot Past BIOS Splash Screen Apr 25, 2010 XP wont boot past splash screen Dec 3, 2005 PC wont boot past the emachines splash screen Mar

So I said, bugger that. Computer Stuck On Welcome Screen Windows 7 To boot from the Windows XP CD, insert it into the CD-ROM drive on the problem system and press [Ctrl][Alt][Delete] to reboot the computer. keyboard disabled after initial startup. If something doesn't work soon I am going to use a sledge hammer!

I do not have my original disc, so I might be in more trouble. Windows Xp Won't Start In Safe Mode On the Windows Advanced Boot Option screen, select one or more of the following options. To resolve this, turn off notebook, connect AC power and allow the battery to charge for at least 30 minutes, then start computer. It all started when my Cd Drive got unplugged, so I replugged it.

Computer Stuck On Welcome Screen Windows 7

Report cannonwill- Jul 21, 2009 at 07:07 AM I wouldn't go this route if I were you. If a specific start up error message is displayed, search the following web sites for a specific solution: http://support.microsoft.com/ www.hp.com If you cannot search on a specific error message, perform one Windows Xp Won't Start Windows 7, Vista , or XP operating system Depending on the condition of the hard drive, the recovery utility allows you to make a backup of all of your personal files Windows Xp Not Starting In Any Mode Select them one at a time and press the enter key to attempt a system restart.

Members can monitor the statuses of their requests from their account pages. this contact form Actions when no error messages display Restart the computer. The HP Hard Drive Self Test can repair most errors. Añadir a ¿Quieres volver a verlo más tarde? Computer Stuck On Welcome Screen Windows 10

There are some actions that you can take before contacting HP to get technical assistance to resolve the error. It takes less than a minute and is completely free! IF YOU ARE ON THIS THING LOOKING FOR HELP ON HOW TO FIX YOUR COMPUTER BECAUSE "IT WONT START" OR WHAT NOT.... have a peek here Reboot after its done.

If you own or have access to more than one notebook, verify that you are using the adapter which belongs to this computer. Windows Xp Not Booting In Safe Mode First, boot the system with the Windows XP CD and access the Recovery Console as described in #4. XP operating system The Master Boot Record (MBR) within the Windows XP operating system may be corrupt.

I have had this same problem happen on 4 different computers within the last 24 hours!

Report Rcavalier86- Apr 16, 2010 at 03:39 PM The problem was when you reinstalled it and windows says it will reboot, you have to take the disk out of drive, otherwise Windows XP Repair Installation If your system came with a Microsoft Windows XP installation CD, you can use this to perform a Windows Repair Installation. Do not run the surface check at this point. Windows Xp Startup Problem Back to top #9 AustrAlien AustrAlien Inquisitor BC Advisor 6,772 posts OFFLINE Gender:Male Location:Cowra NSW Australia Local time:08:44 PM Posted 25 May 2012 - 05:17 AM I have placed ATAPI

Cerrar Más información View this message in English Estás viendo YouTube en Español (España). Any advice? If you don't have the CD, you can download and burn this recovery console (yes, you need another PC for you to burn this one). Check This Out I tried to repair it by reinstalling ie8 and the it won't let me get pass the screen logon.

Search within: all help Contact the service desk View requestsVisit the IT Services homepage info on... Report avadhesh- Mar 25, 2010 at 08:41 AM pl give me solution Report Darkside- Mar 30, 2010 at 10:05 AM You need to do a "repair install" of Windows. i tried everythign, but it wouldnt connect. well i tried all of them and none of them helped me.

Report freak› Jonezyy - Sep 9, 2009 at 01:45 AM i guess re-installing of windows mite help...its not the graphic card prob I too faced the same. Jan 11, 2005 #1 fishhookz TS Rookie Posts: 79 Boot up www.knoppix.net and back up your files. Main Sections Technology News Reviews Features Product Finder Downloads Drivers Community TechSpot Forums Today's Posts Ask a Question News & Comments Useful Resources Best of the Best Must Reads Trending Now I'd suspect a virus based on 'auto-shutdown'.

To begin, insert the Windows XP CD into the drive, restart your system, and boot from the CD. What worse, in the last couple of days trying to resolve this problem I have had 2 more computers dropped in my lap with the same problem. You should get imgburn and select write image file disc. Tried to install XP on it, but the system keeps booting to the XP Media CD and will not install XP - even after I go into BIOS and say boot

This type of installation will completely erase the drive Windows is installed on and then install the operating system again from scratch.Important: In Step 2, I advised that you try to or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site. and should now ... Then start your system with the Windows XP CD, log on to the Recovery Console, and use the Bootcfg command to scan for available Windows installations and repair the Boot.ini file

Then I tried to log into safe mode, I got past the choose ID screen, then it stopped loading again. Count the number of blinks or beeps in the sequence.